Scandinavian Residency in Laboratory Animal Medicine

The Scandinavian programme offers a three-year training programme in Laboratory Animal Medicine. The objective is to provide education and training opportunities for veterinarians to obtain general and basic knowledge of the various fields of laboratory animal medicine, and in addition, to become a specialist in one of the disciplines relevant to laboratory animal medicine. After three years of training, the resident is eligible for examination to be certified as Diplomate by the European College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ECLAM).

Prerequisite to enter the program: Graduation from an EAEVE-approved veterinary school, licence to practice veterinary medicine in Sweden, Denmark or Finland and a one-year internship in a laboratory animal facility or practice.

The training programme consists of two parts:

A residency training programme of 3 years. This part includes working as a laboratory animal veterinarian at one of the cooperating institutes. The didactic component consists of at least 200 hours in all the areas required by ECLAM in the form of courses, seminars, workshops and visits at participating institutes. The training entails a web-based basic course in laboratory animal science or other FELASA or VetCEE accredited course, or a course endorsed by ECLAM.

Research training in one of the fields of laboratory animal medicine. This research training can be performed at one of the participating institutes and should result in two original articles (of which one must be with resident as first author) which demonstrate the application of scientific methods on topics that are relevant to laboratory animal medicine and science. The articles must have been published or accepted for publication in an international peer-reviewed journal. In the case that the resident already has research training and published the required articles, this part can be omitted.

For more information, contact Patricia Hedenqvist (Sweden), Hanna-Marja Voipio (Finland) or Axel Kornerup-Hansen (Denmark).

Created 3 February 2019